College of LAS « Illinois

Class Notes 2015

Alumni from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences share their personal and professional updates.

Submit Your Class Note
Send us your news by filling out our online form. Notes are posted chronologically by submission date. Obituaries are listed at the bottom of the page.

Class Notes

Larry and Katherin HowellLarry J. Howell (BS, ’66; MS, ’68, and PhD, ’71, aerospace engineering) and Katherin (nee Niven) Howell (’65, BA, teaching of French) celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary on Friday, Aug. 28. They met at the University of Illinois in Champaign-Urbana, and were married in Manor Community Church in Chicago. Larry retired from GM as executive director of the research and development center. Katherine retired as a secondary teacher and preschool director. They have a daughter, Susan Boterra, of Seattle; and a son, Brian Howell, who lives in Canton, Mich., with his wife, Melissa, and daughter, Samantha.

Brian Marshall (BA ’91, econ) has been promoted to partner at William Blair & Company. He has been a financial advisor with the firm for 20 years and works with multi-generational families customizing asset management. Brian devotes much of his time volunteering for Misericordia Heart of Mercy. He also serves on the University of Illinois Economics Advisory Council and is a past member of the University of Illinois LAS Alumni Association Board. Brian is married and has four children.


Sayre Dunbar Andersen (’59, BA, Science and Letters; ’60, MA, English) of Wayne, Neb., passed peacefully from this world on August 24, 2015 at Bryan Medical Center West in Lincoln, Neb.. He was 77 years old. While a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, he served as president of his freshman class and was a member of Chi Psi. Later, he served as an assistant professor of English and assistant academic dean at U of I until 1968. After taking a sabbatical in Scotland and England, he returned to the United States in 1970 to take a teaching position at Wayne State College in Nebraska. Over the course of his 40-year career as a professor, he delighted in engaging thousands of students in the thoughtful study of literature, philosophy, and history. Andersen was a committed internationalist and peace advocate who served on the boards of the Nebraska Humanities Council, Nebraskans for Peace, and the U.S.-China Peoples Friendship Association.

Top of page